Das A.I.

AI in HR - 5 reasons why
Personnel urgently involved in the
artificial intelligence should be concerned
Bildschirmfoto 2019-08-06 um 14.25.27.pn


Human Resources and new, groundbreaking innovations?


Sounds a bumpy thing? At first glance, perhaps, however, artificial intelligence (AI) opens up some new, unprecedented possibilities that can definitely revolutionize human resources if we get involved.

How can this be done? Do robots really need to replace our HR departments? The department that presumably thrives on personal contact and humanity like no other? Will our HR departments become impersonal and robotic in the future?

No - is the short summary!


Rather, AI can even intensify the maintenance of human connection in times of "0" and "1". How? For example, by letting AI take on repetitive tasks that are rather boring for the personnel (such as answering the recurring employee questions) and thus giving the recruiter more time for the essentials: the personnel work on and with the employee.

This is just one example of many. Essentially, AI can be used in all areas of human resources, from candidate sourcing to administrative HR management, learning & development to uncovering top talent in the company. Even if it sounds daunting for some people and hardly any other topic encounters so much emotional resistance, we have developed 5 exciting reasons why every HRler should deal with the topic of AI at the latest now:


1. AI opens up completely new possibilities in recruiting:


Every HRler can sing a song about it: Gender-neutral job descriptions. Exercise is the master here, but numerous studies prove that the avoidance of gender-coded language does not always succeed in its entirety. We often read important keywords when creating job descriptions that deter well-suited applicants. This deterrent is mostly unconscious, but may cost companies potential top candidates. For example, if the job advertisement asks for a "vibrant" personality, men usually do not feel addressed and do not apply. AI can set this source of error. Texts are scanned and examined for gender-coded language.

Furthermore, AI opens up a new world in candidate selection. We can train with the significant amount of data collected in recruiting, AI platforms. AI will be able to distinguish "low potential" from "high potential" candidates and predict who will succeed in a job and who will not.

This brings us to a much-criticised downside of AI. Prejudices and psychological biases are thus being further developed at the moment, which is why it is currently difficult to get completely unbiased sourcing. If a solution is found soon, this would be an absolute "game changer" for recruiting.

The applicant also has great advantages from the use of AI: take Applicant tracking systems (ATS). Each candidate knows at all times what status of the candidate process they are in. Endless waiting for a sign from the longed-for new employer is passé. Messages are automatically sent to the applicant if their status in the process changes. This promotes a positive applicant experience and actively strengthens employer branding.

Another megatrend in recruiting is the so-called bots. DPDHL, for example, uses a chat bot via WhatsApp to pre-select applicants. If desired activity, form of employment, start date, etc. has been queried, the HR department takes over with personal contact. A fine example of how AI and humans can go hand in hand.

Potential applications of AI in recruiting:

• Candidate sourcing

• Candidate screening

• Interviews
• Onboarding process


2. AI automates boring and recurring activities to perfection


Especially in administrative activities, AI is probably the biggest benefit at this point in time. As a result, the team has more time for personal contact with its own employees and can take care of important, strategic issues. This is precisely why AI will not replace the personal touch points. On the contrary, they can even be intensified as a result. The ever-increasing expectations

the employees, for example.B in terms of the quality of service and speed of an HR department, can be met much better with the help of AI.

Potential applications:

  • Performance Management

  • Roster-Gestaltun1

  • Personnel Controlling

  • Employee self-service

  • Talent Management

  • Executive development and coaching


3. Early employee detection of demotivation

What if we had a little helper on our hand to tell us when the staff motivation was bad? AI makes it possible! It can predict motivation curves of the employees in order to show need for action and possibilities in good time. Google is doing it and using the technology to detect and counteract frustration sins early on.

Potential applications:

Intelligent employee surveys

Real-time feedback platforms

Reward systems

Personalized messages and communication

4. Questions from employees about their salaries? AI takes over...

AI can also support us on certain payroll issues. Again, bots can clarify the most important questions about salary and co. It is important to receive direct feedback from employees in order to continuously improve and develop the answers.

Potential applications:

Salary calculation and automation

Communication with employees

Compliance check on salaries

5. Strategic employee development thanks to AI

Employee profiles can be evaluated by AI and tailor-made development measures can be created. Of course, based on the employee's developmental aspiration. But other development opportunities can show AI. A so-called AI-based "career assistant" is already being used successfully by a large German automobile manufacturer.

Possible applications in Learning & Development:

• Personalized learning

• eLearning Analytics
• Chatbots for questions

Conclusion

Basically, when dealing with AI systems, one thing is especially important to understand: the systems are only as good as the data they process. In order to achieve a particularly high added value, AI systems are therefore dependent on the support of us humans. And again, the hand-in-hand picture appears. KI will never be alone, attract a real top talent, create a personal interview experience or set up a complete training and mentoring program.

Especially because of the high resistance to AI, it is important that we take away the fear and the doubt of the employees and make it clear that the Employee data, even in conjunction with AI, never be used against their interest. In other words, "KI your friend and helper for a more successful career."

Bildschirmfoto 2019-08-06 um 14.25.27.pn
fullsizeoutput_76.jpeg

Marina Lang

Recruiterin

KI in HR – 5 Gründe, warum sich Personaler dringend mit dem Thema künstliche Intelligenz befassen sollten

Human Resources und neue, bahnbrechende Innovationen?

Klingt etwas holprig? Auf den ersten Blick vielleicht, jedoch eröffnet künstliche Intelligenz (KI) einige neue, noch nie dagewesene Möglichkeiten, welche die Personalarbeit definitiv revolutionieren können, wenn wir uns darauf einlassen.

Wie kann das gehen? Müssen Roboter nun wirklich auch noch unsere HR- Abteilungen ablösen? Die Abteilung, die vermutlich vom persönlichen Kontakt und Menschlichkeit lebt, wie keine andere? Werden unsere HR- Abteilungen in Zukunft unpersönlich und roboterhaft?

Nein - lautet die kurze Zusammenfassung!

Vielmehr kann KI das Pflegen der menschlichen Verbindung in Zeiten von „0“ und „1“ sogar intensivieren. Wie? Indem wir KI beispielsweise repetitive, für den Personaler eher langweilige Aufgaben (wie das Beantworten der immer wiederkehrenden Mitarbeiterfragen) übernehmen lassen und dem Personaler damit mehr Zeit für das Wesentliche verschaffen: die Personalarbeit am und mit dem Mitarbeiter.

Das ist nur ein Beispiel von Vielen. Im Wesentlichen kann KI in allen Bereichen der Personalarbeit eingesetzt werden, von Kandidaten-Sourcing über administratives HR Management, Learning & Development bis hin zur Aufdeckung von Top-Talents im Unternehmen. Auch wenn es für den ein oder anderen abschreckend klingt und bisher kaum ein anderes Thema auf so viel emotionalen Widerstand stößt, haben wir 5 spannende Gründe erarbeitet, warum sich jeder HRler spätestens jetzt mit dem Thema KI auseinandersetzen sollte:

1. KI eröffnet völlig neue Möglichkeiten im Recruiting:

Jeder HRler kann ein Lied davon singen: Genderneutrale Stellenbeschreibungen. Übung macht hier zwar den Meister, es beweisen jedoch zahlreiche Studien, dass die Vermeidung von geschlechtskodierter Sprache nicht immer in Gänze gelingt. Oft überlesen wir bei der Erstellung von Stellenbeschreibungen wichtige Schlüsselwörter, die gut geeignete Bewerber abschrecken. Diese Abschreckung erfolgt zumeist unbewusst, kostet die Unternehmen eventuell jedoch potenzielle Top-Kandidaten. Ein Beispiel: Wird in der Stellenausschreibung nach einer „lebhaften“ Persönlichkeit verlangt, fühlen sich Männer hiervon meist nicht angesprochen und bewerben sich nicht. KI kann diese Fehlerquelle einstellen. Texte werden gescannt und auf geschlechtskodierte Sprache hin untersucht.

Des Weiteren eröffnet KI eine neue Welt in der Kandidaten-Auswahl. Wir können mit der erheblichen Menge an gesammelten Daten im Recruiting, KI- Plattformen trainieren. KI wird „low potential“ von „high potential“ Kandidaten unterscheiden können und vorhersagen, wer in einem Job erfolgreich sein wird und wer nicht.

Damit kommen wir zu einer vielfach kritisierten Schattenseite von KI. Vorurteile und psychologische Biases werden damit im Moment noch weiterentwickelt, weshalb ein völlig vorurteilsfreies Sourcing derzeit nur schwer möglich ist. Wird hier bald eine Lösung gefunden, wäre dies ein absoluter „Game-Changer“ für das Recruiting.

Auch für den Bewerber ergeben sich große Vorteile durch den Einsatz von KI: nehmen Sie Applicant tracking systems (ATS). Jeder Kandidat weiß zu jedem Zeitpunkt, in welchem Status des Bewerberprozesses er sich gerade befindet. Endloses Warten auf ein Zeichen vom ersehnten neuen Arbeitgeber ist passé. Automatisch werden Nachrichten an den Bewerber versendet, sollte sich sein Status im Prozess ändern. Dies fördert eine positive Bewerber-Experience und stärkt aktiv das Employer Branding.

Ein weiterer Megatrend im Recruiting sind die sogenannten Bots. DPDHL zum Beispiel nutzt einen Chat Bot via WhatsApp, um Bewerber vorzuselektieren. Wurde gewünschte Tätigkeit, Form der Anstellung, Startdatum etc. abgefragt, übernimmt die Personalabteilung mit persönlichem Kontakt. Ein schönes Beispiel dafür, wie KI und Mensch, Hand in Hand gehen können.

Potenzielle Einsatzmöglichkeiten von KI im Recruiting:

• Kandidaten-Sourcing

• Kandidaten-Screening

• Interviews
• Onboarding-Prozess

2. KI automatisiert langweilige und wiederkehrende Tätigkeiten in Perfektion

Gerade bei administrativen Tätigkeiten bringt KI zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt wohl den größten Benefit. Als Ergebnis hat das Team mehr Zeit für den persönlichen Kontakt mit den eigenen Mitarbeitern und kann sich um wichtige, strategische Themen kümmern. Gerade deshalb wird KI nicht die persönlichen Berührungspunkte ablösen. Ganz im Gegenteil, sie können dadurch sogar intensiviert werden. Auch die stetig steigenden Erwartungen

der Mitarbeiter z.B. bezüglich der Servicequalität und Geschwindigkeit einer HR-Abteilung, können mithilfe von KI weit besser erfüllt werden.

Potenzielle Einsatzmöglichkeiten:

  • Performance Management

  • Dienstplan-Gestaltung

  • Personal-Controlling

  • Mitarbeiter-Self-Service

  • Talent Management

  • Führungskräfteentwicklung und Coaching

3. Frühzeitig Mitarbeiter Demotivation erkennen

Wie wäre es, wenn wir einen kleinen Helfer an der Hand hätten, der uns darauf hinweist, wenn es schlecht um die Mitarbeitermotivation bestellt ist? KI macht es möglich! Es kann Motivations-Kurven der Mitarbeiter voraussagen, um rechtzeitig Handlungsbedarf und -möglichkeiten aufzuzeigen. Google macht es vor und nutzt die Technologie, um Frustrationstäler früh zu erkennen und entgegen zu wirken.

Potenzielle Einsatzmöglichkeiten:

  • Intelligente Mitarbeiter-Umfragen

  • Real-time Feedback-Plattformen

  • Belohnungssysteme

  • Personalisierte Nachrichten und Kommunikation

KI kann uns ebenfalls bei gewissen Payroll-Themen unterstützen. Auch hier können Bots, die wichtigsten Fragen zu Gehalt und Co. klären. Wichtig dabei ist das direkte Feedback von den Mitarbeitern, um die Antworten fortwährend zu verbessern und weiterzuentwickeln.

Potenzielle Einsatzmöglichkeiten:

  • Gehälter-Berechnung und Automatisierung

  • Kommunikation mit den Mitarbeitern

  • Compliance-Check bei den Gehältern

4. Fragen der Mitarbeiter zu ihren Gehältern? KI übernimmt...

5. Strategische Mitarbeiterentwicklung dank KI

Mitarbeiterprofile können von KI ausgewertet werden und passgenaue Entwicklungs-Maßnahmen erstellt werden. Natürlich auf Basis des Entwicklungswunsches des Mitarbeiters. Aber auch weitere Development- Möglichkeiten kann KI aufzeigen. Ein sogenannter KI-basierter “Karriereassistent” wird bereits von einem großen deutschen Automobilhersteller erfolgreich eingesetzt.

Mögliche Einsatzmöglichkeiten im Learning & Development:

  • Personalisiertes Lernen

  • eLearning Analytics

  • Chatbots für Fragen

Fazit

Grundsätzlich ist im Umgang mit KI-Systemen eine Sache besonders wichtig zu verstehen: Die Systeme sind immer nur so gut, wie die Daten, die sie verarbeiten. Um einen besonders hohen Mehrwert zu erzielen sind KI-Systeme also auf die Unterstützung von uns Menschen angewiesen. Und wieder erscheint das Hand in Hand Bild. KI wird niemals alleine, ein echtes Top-Talent anziehen, ein persönliches Interview-Erlebnis schaffen oder ein komplettes Training und Mentoring-Programm aufstellen.

Gerade aufgrund des hohen Widerstands gegenüber KI ist es wichtig, dass wir den Mitarbeitern die Angst und die Zweifel nehmen und klarstellen, dass die Daten der Mitarbeiter, auch in Verbindung mit KI, niemals gegen ihr Interesse verwendet werden. Mit anderen Worten: „KI dein Freund und Helfer für eine erfolgreichere Karriere.“

Marina Lang

Recruiterin bei Die CONUFACTUR